Take a look!

Sorry, I have been AWOL lately.  My oldest son accidentally deleted my author website a few weeks ago, and I have been trying to decide what to do about it. I know that I am doing exactly opposite from what is considered expert advise, those who say that you should consolidate and keep everything on one page.  I now have two websites and one blog, in addition to my author pages on facebook, goodreads, crossreads, etc.

I did like my old website, in spite of being told it didn’t look very professional.  I had made the backgrounds for it myself, and it had a very definite Scottish feel to it, which I liked.  I suppose I could have just put it back the way it was, but I guess I am not that kind of person.  It had a very definite feel of “been-there-done-that” which made me want to try something different.   I could always go back to the way it was, but I like “new”.

So, for the last few weeks I have been looking through Joomla templates, selecting a few that could possibly work for me.  Then I had to actually learn Joomla — how to change the DNS, how to install Joomla itself, how to install a new template, how to upload the content, make a new logo for it, etc.   Some Joomla templates are not straightforward about how to personalize them.

Unlike my husband and my sons, I don’t have an overly developed love of learning new things.  The things I learn are mostly due to necessity, rather than just wanting to learn how to do stuff.  Having said that, I do like to do certain things and in order to do them I have to learn how.  Such as graphics; I even went so far as to design my own video game; I am still working on that, though.   I have been dabbling in graphics programs for the last twelve or so years, so it was natural that I would like to design my own book covers.  I can’t say that I am an expert, but I can say that I like how they turned out, and if not I can always change it.  Like the cover for my new book, Maiden of Fana.  Even though I love it; it appears I am the only one who does.  I didn’t even get one like for it on my facebook page.  Oh, well!  Which means that I will probably have to redesign it.  I just have to figure out what I really want the book to say at first sight.

Now that my new website is done, for the moment; you can all go take a look at it, if you like.  I added some new content, and kept some of the better content from my previous website.  I have to admit this one does look more professional, I don’t know if that is a good thing or not.

Please take a look at the featured authors, so far I have two authors.  If you care to be featured, please let me know.  The only criteria is that you be the author of family-friendly literature—No sex or mature scenes or heavy swearing.  Take a look!

Leave a Reply

